Tuesday, March 18, 2008

About Kumakomo Community Radio Station

Situated in the heart of Zimbabwe’s eastern border town of Mutare, Kumakomo Community Radio Station (KCRS) intends to serve the geographical community of Manicaland by broadcasting the broad interests of its community that includes health, social and developmental issues.Mutare is the provincial capital of Manicaland province, which includes districts such as Chipinge, Chimanimani, Buhera, Marange, Zimunya and Makoni. Manicaland is also home to the Ndau, Vahera, Mabocha, Samanyika, Maungwe and Majindwi all of whom share common values.KCRS intends to take the form of its vast community, in character and content and be the common meeting point for all the tribes focusingon empowering them to develop their community and preserve their cultural values.KCRS when it evenually broadcasts will strive to maintain the station’s independence and ensure that its operation focus on the needs of the people of Manicaland.The committee spearheading KCRS is made up of Kelvin Jakachira as chairman, Sydney Saize is the vice chairman while Chengetai Murimwa is the secretary. Evidence Chenjerai, Thembani Mudavanhu, Tambudzai Zindi and Pepe Guwila are committee members.KCRS has been wellcomed by the community with even some Zanu PF members urgng Zimbabweans to demand the granting of licences for community broadcasters.The board is trustee is made up of Daniel Chigudu,as chairman, other members of the board are Trust Maanda, Mike Tembo, Vonesi Masanganise and Charles Chikwama.

No comments: